GASi Objectives, Constitution & Founders

The Foundations of the Society
Objectives of the Society

The Group-Analytic Society was founded in 1952. The Society is primarily for professionals engaged in the practice of group psychotherapy or members of other professions with an interest in group dynamics. There are approximately 600 members, about half resident outside the United Kingdom.


  • Promote the treatment and prophylaxis of psychiatric disorders by the technique of Group-Analytic Psychotherapy
  • Promote study and research regarding the application of the science of Group Analysis
  • Organise international symposia and workshops in Group Analysis in different cultures and countries
  • Promote and foster the development of Group Analysis in different cultures and countries
  • Further the work of Group-Analytic Training Institutions in advancing the education and training of persons for work in the field of Group Analysis
  • Promote educational methods based upon Group Analysis
  • Advise on the effects of group activities
  • Print, publish and distribute books, papers, articles and journals relating to Group Analysis and to finance or assist in the financing of such printing, publishing and distribution
  • Make grants for defraying the expenses of lectures and lecture tours relating to Group Analysis
  • Assist with the financing of persons and bodies for the object aforesaid and upon the basis that any such finance shall be applied wholly in a charitable manner and only for the said object
  • Assist in the development and application of Group Analysis within the framework of Public Health Services in different countries

The official publication of the Group-Analytic Society (International) is Group Analysis.

GASi Constitution

Click on the link to download our constitution:


Gas Constitution

Founder Members
Honorary Members

Honorary Membership is granted by the Management Committee of GASi.

D. Wilfred Abse, Vivienne Cohen, Lisbeth Hearst, Helena Klimova,  Malcolm Pines, Lise Rafaelsen, Prof. H.J.Walton, Estella Welldon, Jerzy Pawlik.

Honorary Members, now deceased:  

David Clark, Juan Campos, Patrick de Mare, Dr. Olov Dahlin, Ronald Sandison, Adele Mittwoch. Robert Andry, Dr. Stuart Whiteley